Close Menu
Maryland Workers Compensation Lawyer
Schedule a Free Consultation

Maryland Workers Compensation Lawyers

Signing A Release After an Accident Without the Assistance of An Attorney

If you are injured in an automobile accident as a result of the negligence of another party, you may be contacted by that individual’s insurance company. The insurance company may offer you a settlement in return for signing a release. If you discover that your injuries are more serious after accepting the money and signing the release, there may be a way to void the settlement.

Under Maryland law if you sign a release for the injuries within 30 days of the accident, without the assistance of an attorney, the release can be voidable. In order to void the release you must notify the insurance company in writing within 60 days from the date you signed the release that you are voiding the release. In addition you must return the money paid to you as a result of signing the release.

This becomes rather complicated, so the solution is to contact an attorney immediately after the automobile accident to protect your rights!!

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact Form Tab